Dressing up…

McMurdo was fortunate this year for Halloween to land on a Saturday this year.  The Halloween party could actually be held on Halloween Night!!!  The Halloween party is not an NSF-sanction event.  Instead it is a private party with an invitation list of about 1100. 

I dressed up as an Elvis Presley Song.  Anyone care to venture what that song might be….

I'm the Devil in Disguise!!!

I went to the party with my friends Cheryl, Deke and Emily.

Me, Deke & the Other Cheryl

Deke has a tradition of dressing in drag for Halloween.  This is actually a time-honored Antarctic tradition as the men of McMurdo in 1956 also dressed in drag and have continued ever since.  However, this is the first year that Deke bought a dress without trying it on.  It has been decided that Deke does not look pretty when he wears a conservative dress.  He looks better with something low cut and a short skirt – he’s got the legs for it!!!

Cheryl was so proud of herself with her costume.  As space in luggage is limited, some of us (not all as some people bring down very elaborate costumes!!!) bring very few items to be used as a Halloween costume.  Heck, I’m wearing those black pants right now as I sit in my office at my computer!  The horns and glasses took very little space in my suitcase!!!  Cheryl brought down a red tank top and blue shorts she bought at Goodwill.  She accessorized it (as all good Wonderwomen do!) with painted cups, card board, duck tape and scraps of fabric.  She even skua’d the boots and painted them red!  I wish I had known so I could have brought down my SuperSheryl costume and we could have been Super Hero SCheryls! 

Cheryl using her golden lasso to capture her roommate.

Emily couldn’t decide on a new costume, so she went as Alice in Wonderland again in 2010

Emily in 2010

Emily in 2009

 
 

Using authentic Antarctic Ice to keep the beer cold. (But it also made the cans a little dusty and dirty...)

I don’t have many stories for this blog. Just pictures. Some people get really creative with their costumes!

A panoramic shot of the party in the Big Gym

The Hamburgler of McDonald's fame!

This guys is AWESOME!!! Cuz you can totally tell he made his costume with items from Station. He's Ob Hill!!!

A group of people dressed up as a Beer Garden! It was also awesome!!! They had that orange plastic fencing! And they had usable tables to set your beer on. They would walk around the party & corral people into their garden. AWESOME!!!

I took this picture for you, Laura! Can you guess who it is?!?!? For those who aren

Me and the new Housing Coordinator. My medal used to look like that year, except for mine had pigtails and said "Dealing with Whiners daily."

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dressing up…

  1. LJW says:

    Mooooooore blooooooooooooggggg!!

Leave a comment